IFDA 2024 requires designs that commemorate ingenuity of woodworking

Held each three years (see 2020 version), the famend Worldwide Furnishings Design Competitors Asahikawa (IFDA) celebrates the ingenuity of woodworking. The platform promotes the love of the age-old materials, not solely its traditions but additionally its innovation. IFDA 2024 requires such novelties because it marks its twelfth version, rewarding winners and finalists with money prizes, manufacturing alternatives, and networking occasions.

Submit your wood furnishings design by December 20, 2023 – right here.

the 2021 Gold Leaf Award: Cubicle by Ken Watanabe

all photos courtesy of Worldwide Furnishings Design Competitors Asahikawa

Based in 1990, IFDA promotes the talents of the heartland of furnishings in Japan, Asihikawa. Its woodworking trade has flourished as one of many main facilities in creating wood furnishing items. In actual fact, town joined the UNESCO Artistic Cities Community within the discipline of design in 2019. It’s one in every of solely three cities of design in Japan and one in every of simply 40 on this planet.

the 2017 Bronze Leaf Award: CJ2 Legless Chair by Kenta Hirai

Each version unites experience and design approaches from the trade world wide, making it a must-visit hub for skilled and aspiring designers to construct connections and share information. With a formidable complete of 9,433 entries from 77 nations and areas so far, over 50 entries to the competitors have gone into manufacturing as Asahikawa furnishings merchandise since. The 2024 version appears to be like to encourage much more proficient designs on their solution to realization.

the 2014 Gold Leaf Award: ST-Chair by Naoki Mukaiyama

IFDA 2024 marks a brand new period for the competitors, constructing upon 33 years of expertise as a platform and over a century as an trade in Asahikawa. The brand new version pronounces a roster of latest alternatives for its entrants. For the primary time, finalists have the prospect to current creations earlier than the ultimate spherical of judging and the announcement of the outcomes on the awards ceremony. This not solely elevates the sense of event however affords worthwhile networking moments.

the 2011 Gold Leaf Award: Half Chair by Woojin Chung

For the distinguished competitors, the judges for 2024 embody equally celebrated names within the inventive discipline: Sou Fujimoto, architect and chief decide; Masaaki Hiromura, graphic designer; Anne-Louise Sommer, museum director, adjunct professor Design Museum Denmark; Tucker Viemeister, industrial designer; and Michael Younger, industrial designer. The worldwide judging panel will assess entries based mostly on the theme of wood furnishings – a tribute to the competitors’s authentic mission. Submitted designs are welcome from world wide, however they have to be newly created and beforehand unpublished.

the 2008 Gold Leaf Award: Barca by Jakob Joergensen

Along with manufacturing alternatives and networking occasions, winners of the IFDA 2024 can even obtain publicity as the chances of showcasing their furnishings will increase. Laureates will obtain money prizes to assist additional their careers, starting from 3,000,000 yen (roughly $20,300 USD) for the Gold Leaf prize to 1,000,000 yen (roughly $6,700) for the Silver Leaf prize, and 300,000 yen (roughly $2,000 USD) for each the Bronze and Maple Leaf prizes.

Feeling impressed to use? Enter your designs to IFDA 2024 earlier than December 20, 2023 – right here!

the 2005 Silver Leaf Award: Kina Gentle by David Trubridge

the 2002 Bronze Leaf Award: Torii the Bench by Juha Hakala and Pekka Kolosalmi

the 1999 Bronze Prix Award: Tornado by Yuriko Takahashi

the 1996 Grand Prix Award: Youngsters Stool by Steen Duelholm Sehested

the 1993 Grand Prix Award: 4-legged stackable chair ‘Lizard’ by Torben Skov

the 1990 Gold Prix Award: Bench for Two by Nanna Ditzel

competitors information:

competitors: Worldwide Furnishings Design Competitors Asahikawa (IFDA)

version: 2024

submissions deadline: December 20, 2023